Mushrooms in Oyster Sauce

mushroomsinoystersauceMost of the recipes I make come from different things I have had in restaurants or see online. While my parents were home last, we ended up at a Chinese buffet (shockingly I was good!). I had a few pieces of sushi because I always use this time to try different kinds. Then as I made my way back into what seemed of endless aisles of food, I found a tray piled high with mushrooms. The sign read “mushrooms in oyster sauce” so at first I passed by (ew oyster) but then I decided to try it, what the hell! I probably had two servings before we left! So I immediately thought to myself, this is something I have to make at home! So I went out the next day and bought oyster sauce. Well it has sat on my shelf until now.

This is such an easy recipe to whip together when you don’t want to serve carrots and peas again with dinner.

What you will need:

  • 2 cups of mushrooms (I love to mix and match mine)
  • 1/2 cup of oyster sauce
  • 1 cup of low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tsp of flour
  • 1/2 tbsp of vegetable oil

Here is what you do:

  1. Cut the mushrooms down into bite size pieces, but not to small. Heat the vegetable oil in a sauce pan over medium heat. When it started to glisten, toss the mushrooms in. Allow to cook for about 7 to 8 minutes or until they soften. There will be liquid in the bottom of the pan. DO NOT DRAIN OUT.
  2. In a cup mix together the oyster sauce and soy sauce. Then mix in the flour. Whisk until well blended then pour into the sauce pan with the mushrooms. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and allow to cook for another 9 to 10 minutes or until the sauce has thickened. Serve warm.

This recipe makes 4 servings and is only 2 weight watcher points per a serving! This takes minutes to prepare and you don’t have to really pay to much attention so you can set it on the back of the stove and work on the rest of dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

