Angel Food Cake

angelfoodcakeI love sweets. I absolutely love them! I love making them, I love eating them, and I love sharing them. So when I decided I was going to try new recipes on my family, I knew I would have to make a dessert just in case everything went south! Luckily that did not happen this time! However when thinking about what to make for dessert I had a few ideas, but the best thing I could really think of was Angel Food Cake because my dearest husband and his twin absolutely love it. So I thought about buying the box cake for it and after looking through several recipes I realized actually how easy it is!

Now naturally Angel Food cake is fat free, but when you start adding in all the extra toppings, that is what gets the scale tipping! So keep to lots of fresh fruit and low fat toppings.

Here is what you will need:

  • 1 and  3/4 cup of sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup of cake flour, sifted
  • 12 egg whites (take the eggs out about 30 minutes before you start baking)
  • 1/3 cup of warm water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp imitation rum extract
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp of cream of tar tar

Here is what you do:

  1. Preheat the over to 350 degrees F. If you don’t have super fine sugar just toss it into a food processor for a couple minutes to break it down even more. Then sift half the sugar in with the salt and cake flour.
  2. Now I would use a separate bowl for this part to make sure you don’t have any mix ups. Crack and separate the eggs making sure not to get any yoke or shell into the whites. Save the yoke in another bowl and use it later for eggs or in another recipe, just don’t waste them! Now when that is all done, use a whisk to mix together the egg whites, extracts, and cream of tar tar together until well blended. Now grab an electric mix, unless you are so beastly you can do this by hand which I don’t recommend, and start whipping the eggs until you get what looks like slightly melted cool whips. Mix in the sugar that was set aside earlier in small sections. Make sure not to over beat the eggs. You want soft peaks when you pull the electric beater out.
  3. Now put aside the electric mixer and grab the flour mixture and a rubber spatula. Sift a small portion of the flour mixture into the egg mix and fold it in softly making sure not to over work it. Repeat until the entire flour mixture is folded in. Pour the batter into a lightly greased tube pan.
  4. Bake for 35 minutes before checking with a toothpick to make sure it is completely cooked. Check in the center between the inside and outside of the pan. When done allow to cool upside down for at least an hour before removing.

This cake serves 15 people with a pp value of 4. Now this will increase with what you add to it. I like to add fresh sliced bananas which don’t add any points. Most fruit won’t add points either so feel free to slice up strawberries or add blueberries too. I love to melt some Nutella and drizzle on top which is 1 pp for 1/2 tbsp which is more then enough. If you are in the mood for melted peanut butter, its also 1 pp for 1/2 tbsp. Whatever you add to the top, remember to enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

