Banana Bread Oatmeal and Peanut Butter

bananabreadoatmealwithpeanutbutter

Now I try to cook from scratch, I really do. But sometimes I just can’t. Like breakfast for instance is the hardest. I hate bacon, there I said it, I hate it. I hate the texture, I hate the taste, and I even hate making it! And besides other then Sunday morning breakfast which is usually made by my husband, I hate having to clean up so much in the morning. So normally I stick to a couple simple staples like cereal with fat free milk. In the cabinet right now is Total (yum) which I usually slice some bananas and toss in with it. Or I normally get Peanut Butter Cheerios which are just sweet enough to get me over the hump in the morning. But this morning was special, mhmm special! I treated myself yesterday to a whole box of banana bread oatmeal while shopping and I just knew I had to have it this morning. However thinking about it last night (which is something I always do because well I am a true fat kid) and it really needed a little something. And what better could that something be then melted peanut butter!

So here is what you will need:

  • Quakers Weight Control Banana Bread Oatmeal 1 Packet
  • 1 1/2 tsps of Peanut Butter
  • 3/4 cup of Fat Free milk

Here is what you do:

  1. Dump oatmeal into small bowl and mix with milk. Cook for about a minute and half in microwave. Stir until mixed well.
  2. Place peanut butter into a small microwavable bowl and melt. This usually takes about a minute but keep an eye on it so it won’t burn. Be careful taking it out, might be hot! Pour melted peanut butter over oatmeal, and enjoy!

Now this recipe not changed is 7 points. While normally I keep my points fairly long in the morning, this is a huge treat and will keep you full till lunch time! Now none of my bananas were ripened this morning so I had to do without them, but to add bulk without adding points, you can slice some bananas up and add it in. Now for those who do not like banana bread oatmeal, here are the points for a couple different flavors.

  • Quaker Oatmeal Crunch Apples and Cinnamon: 8 points
  • Quaker Oatmeal Crunch Maple and Brown Sugar: 6 points

Just remember if you are counting points, to always double check within your planner just to be sure. The low sugar oatmeal, high fiber, and weight control oatmeal that Quaker puts out is always a good choice.

Leave a Reply

