Chocolate Chip Cheesecake

chocolatechipcheesecakecupcakesI am going to start this off with one of my favorite recipes to make, chocolate chip cheesecake. Now I know that does not should healthy at all, but wait! I found this recipe off of Weight Watchers! Now the first time I made this recipe, it was my first time making a cheesecake and while everyone assured me it tasted good, I wasn’t to sure it was actually cooked all the way! So I had to redeem myself and make it again that way I knew I could tackle any kind of cheesecake! For the original recipe check out http://www.weightwatchers.com/food/rcp/RecipePage.aspx?recipeid=60721

I decided to make the cheesecake for a family party so I decided to attempt cupcakes because they are easier to share.

Here is what you will need:

  • 10 cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies (I just use reduced fat oreo cookies)
  • 8 1/2 Tbsp fat-free cream cheese
  • 8 oz low fat cream cheese, tub style
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup fat-free cottage cheese
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract (the original recipe calls for almond but I can never stand that stuff!)
  • 6 large egg whites
  • 3/4 cups mini chocolate chips

Now here is what you do:

  1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Lightly coat a 9-inch springform pan with cooking spray. Crush cookies; sprinkle evenly over bottom of pan.
  3. Use an electic mixer, in a large bowl, beat together cream cheeses on lowest speed until well-blended. (I had to stop every couple of minutes to push the cream cheese down so it wouldn’t get caught in the whisks.)
  4. In a small bowl, combine sugar and flour; add to cream cheese mixture and beat until smooth.
  5. In a food processor or blender, puree cottage cheese until smooth. (I can never get it really smooth, but I have never had a problem with it being a little to chunky.) Add cottage cheese and vanille extract to cream cheese mixture; beat until smooth. Add egg whiles; beat until well-blended. Stir in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.
  6. Pour batter into prepared pan and sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips. Bake until cheesecake puffs and center is almost set, about 60 minutes.
  7. Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely. Run a knife around sides of pan to loosen; release pan sides. Cover and chill overnight. Cut into 12 slices and serve. Cover and chill overnight. Yields 1 slice per serving.

Now I decided to make cupcakes and there are just a few simple changes. Line a cupcake pan with liners and then split the crushed cookie crumbs into the liners. I can usually get 18 decent size cupcakes out of one thing of batter. Don’t bother splitting the mini chips, just dump them all in the batter. Split the batter between the cupcakces, and then bake for about 40 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack afterwards and then let sit in fridge overnight.

Everyone who tried these absolutely loved them and you can even switch out the mini chololate chips for peanut butter chips for a peanut butter cheesecake!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

